2019 Graduation, Honors, and Awards

Congratulations to our graduating seniors!!

  • Denis Cipurko will be enrolling in an MD/PhD program at the University of Chicago

  • Claire Herbert will be attending the University of California - Irvine in pursuit of a PhD in chemistry

  • Michael Serwetnyk will be attending the University of Notre Dame for a PhD in organic chemistry

  • Ademilola Tejuoso will be matriculating to the University of Louisville for medical school

    Your time is the most valuable thing you all have contributed to the lab, and it is all greatly appreciated! We wish you the best of luck in all of your future endeavors, whatever they may entail. Wherever life takes you, remember that Flanner 217 will always be your home!

On April 24, 2019, the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry held its annual awards ceremony to celebrate the hard work of all its students. Once again, the Becker lab was very well-represented:

Claire Herbert: Graduating Senior Speaker

Claire Herbert:  ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry

Michael Serwetnyk:  ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry

Claire Herbert: Chemistry Major Fr. Morrissey Medal

Michael Serwetnyk: Biochemistry Major Fr. Morrissey Medal

Elliot Gild: Fr. Morrissey Medals for Junior Chemistry Major

Xhulio Arolli:  Mode Scholarship

Madison Anonick: Louis Glunz Family-Regis Scholarship and internship

Miriam Velazquez: Babler Scholarship

Denis Cipurko: Merck Index Award

Ademilola Tejuoso: Chair Recognition Award

Departmental Honors

Denis Cipurko – Gold

Claire Herbert – Gold

Michael Serwetnyk – Gold

Ademilola Tejuoso – Silver

For the 2019 - 2020 academic year, six of our members were awarded scholarships to fund their research and will present their projects at Loyola’s Weekend of Excellence in Spring 2020. They are:

  • Madison Anonick - Mulcahy Scholarship

  • Xhulio Arolli - Mulcahy Scholarship

  • Elliot Gild - Mulcahy Scholarship

  • Oliwia Ozog - Mulcahy Scholarship

  • Isaac Schwarz - Provost Fellowship

  • Miriam Velazquez - Provost Fellowship

Congratulations to all on another excellent year!!